Thursday, December 9, 2010

Northeast States Emergency Consortium

The Northeast States Emergency Consortium (NESEC) is a non-profit all-hazards emergency management organization,. NESEC is the only all-hazard state consortium in the nation lead exclusively by State Directors of Emergency Management and is supported and funded by the Department of Homeland Security Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).  The states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont form the consortium.

The Northeast is susceptible to many hazards, including earthquakes, hurricanes, floods, fires, hazardous materials incidents, terrorism, tornadoes, winter storms, ice jams and other natural and man-made disasters. Large, densely populated urban areas and extensive waterfront development have only increased the region's vulnerability to natural disasters.

The web site includes a cool web page with links to real time hazard maps.

Here is their K-5 level video on the earthquake hazard for New England:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Wave to us!