Monday, January 3, 2011

National Earthquakes Hazard Reduction Program

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) is a multiagency program established by Congress “to reduce the risks of life and property from future earthquakes in the United States.” The four federal agencies participating in NEHRP are the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the National Science Foundation (NSF),
and the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). NIST serves as the lead agency for NEHRP.

NEHRP was initially authorized by Congress in 1978 and has been subsequently reauthorized at 2- to 5-year intervals. The latest reauthorization of NEHRP (Public Law 108–360) authorized funding through fiscal year (FY) 2009. This legislation also required that the NEHRP Interagency Coordinating Committee (ICC), which directs the program, submit an annual report on NEHRP budgets and activities. The ICC submits this annual report in accordance with Section 103(1) of Public Law 108–360.

Many related links, including the latest annual report, can be found on the web page linked to above.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Wave to us!